Loading...

Monday, August 22, 2011

Can You Trust Who's Who?

Let's put it this way.  I am a blogger.  Probably C or D list at best.  Still, I get letters from Who's Who like I'm somebody that should be included.  Any directory that would list me at this point in my career should be suspect. 

To top it off, a recent phone call from Who's Who ended when the flustered operator hung up on me because I asked too  many questions.  Question like, where did you get my information? and How to do I qualify for this? 

Here's the latest letter I received.  

This is the final notice regarding your inclusion within the 2011 Edition of Who's Who Among Executives and Professionals.
We have sent you several emails requesting your inclusion, and so far we have not received any confirmation on your biographical proof.
Most individuals look at the Who’s Who as the world’s premier source for networking.  Our professional network of trusted contacts gives you an advantage in your career,
and is one of your most valuable assets. The Who’s Who exists to help you make better use of your professional network and help the people you trust in return.
Our mission is to connect the world’s professionals to make them more productive and successful. We believe that in a globally connected economy, your success as a professional
and your competitiveness as a company depends upon faster access to insights and resources that you can trust.
http://www.wintheworld.info/youraward/

We urge you to click here and fill out the appropriate information in order to get the biographical process started. There is no cost or obligation to be listed.
Best of luck in all of your future endeavors,
http://www.wintheworld.info/youraward/

Click Here and get Noticed Today
http://www.wintheworld.info/youraward/



James Parker
Managing Director

Who's Who Among Executives and Professionals
119 Chambers Street
15th Floor
New York, NY 10007
http://www.wintheworld.info/youraward/?q=vhk03646b6875706c7777436ssg&j=ha70646c6f3166727030697yli&un=lp8666e30767364706b647876m&lu=pkmg

Not a scam perse as they are not trying to empty your bank account or give you a virus, but do you really want to pay for this directory with a bunch of people who's names where purchased from God knows where?

By the way, check out the price of the directory (above).









~Feel free to comment on your own phish experiences and add links to related sites in the comment section www.smellphishy.com

3 comments:

Melinda said...

This morning I received no less than 15 emails from 'Who's Who" and "James Parker" with titles like "You've Been Selected", "Your Invitation", and "This is the Final Notice of Your Invitation". When I googled it to see if it was safe to open your page came up. I've never heard of Who's Who before, and I am definitely not someone that would be included in it. I am not a professional in any way and I don't have any kind of blog. Needless to say, they will be deleted without being opened.

Anonymous said...

I too have been inundated with email requests to include my biographical information. When looking further at the address of which this is sent, all show as Who’s Who or James Parker but when you roll over it and show the full email address each is a different address
titusdouglas@yoursuperimage.info
damiensager@appereancerepair.com
to name just two of the dozen that came in this morning. Blocking the address, too many to list, will not stop these attacks.

Anonymous said...

They're now hosting it on protecturlife.net. The main site shows Lorem Ipsum, and known test phrase. If they're pretending to be professional, they could at least get a homepage up first.